Glorious Years of District 308

Since its inception in 1920, the Inner Wheel Movement has been in the vanguard of service to the community in ameliorating the sufferings of the disadvantaged and underprivileged sections by providing relief and succor through its various projects and initiatives. Each successive year Inner Wheel teams at the International , National, District and Club level have left their indelible mark in the service
of humanity, keeping in mind the core values of ‘ Friendship and Service’ and its cherished principles, that have been the corner stone of the Inner Wheel Movement.

The story of District 308, which was carved out of larger Districts 309 and 310, is the story of humble service by numerous people who gave to the Inner Wheel movement their time, energy and resources enthusiastically. Mrs. Sushil Baljee from Inner Wheel Club of Shimla, Mrs. Krishna Sagar and Mrs. Swarn Kanwar both from Inner Wheel Club of Ambala Cantt led the combined large District 310 in the years 1971 – 72, 78 – 79 and 82 – 83. Inner Wheel Club of Shimla is the oldest Club of the District followed by Inner Wheel Clubs of Ambala Cantt and Chandigarh.

The new Inner Wheel District 308 came into existence on 1st July, 1985 as a result of bifurcation of Districts 309 and 310. Mrs. Nira Nath from Inner Wheel Club of Ambala Cantt took over as the founder District Chairman. The new District comprised of sixteen clubs from Himachal Pradesh, Punjab, Uttar Pradesh, Haryana and Union Territory of Chandigarh with a strength of 470 members. Today we have grown to 59 clubs and over 1652 members.

The execution of excellent projects has been the hallmark of the District with all the clubs playing their part in providing meaningful service to the community.The Salient focus areas have been the Protection & Conservation of the Environment,Care for the Aged / Special Children/Orphans, Education,Vocational Training ,Medical Care, Women Empowerment, Rebuilding Shelters & Schools in natural calamity hit areas, Sanitation, Girls Toilets and Providing Artificial limbs.

District 308 has also produced dynamic District Chairmen who have served with distinction and dedication . Some have also brought laurels to the District by holding posts in the Association .

Mrs. Krishna Sagar – Association Treasurer 1979 – 80

Mrs. Anuradha Kalra – Association President 1996-97

Mrs. Renu Baljee – Association Secretary 1995 – 96, Association President 1999 – 2000, IIW Board Director 2001 – 2002, CCC Chairman 2007 – 2010, Past Assoication President’s Forum Secretary 2010-2013.

Mrs. Patricia Hilton – Association Treasurer 2012-2013 , Association Vice president ( 2016-2017) , Association President ( 2017-2018) , Elected to the post of IIW Board Director (2019-2020)

Mrs. Megha Bansal was elected association secretary for 2015-2016

District 308 commerated it’s Silver Jubilee in 2010 and it is a tribute to the able and distinguished leadership of the Past District Chairmen, office bearers and members of the clubs that we have grown from strength to strength not only in membership but in facilitating outstanding projects.

The District Website was launched on August 21, 2010 by Mrs. Neelam Vij District Chairman 2010-11 at the Inter District Rally and Felicitation of IIWP Dr. Pallavi Shah at Ambala.